InDesign practice

Screen Shot 2015-10-22 at 4.14.57 PM Screen Shot 2015-10-22 at 4.27.35 PM (1) Screen Shot 2015-10-22 at 4.19.11 PM Screen Shot 2015-10-22 at 4.18.26 PM Screen Shot 2015-10-22 at 4.18.05 PM Screen Shot 2015-10-22 at 4.17.13 PM Screen Shot 2015-10-22 at 4.15.52 PM  Screen Shot 2015-10-22 at 4.15.10 PM

These are the different designs I came up with for my final double page spread.

When I was looking through magazines for inspiration I came across this double page spread in HotShoe magazine. I really love that bold text white text that goes with the images outline and how that contrasts with the smoke, and  also the fact the green background matches the green of the tree. I’m not too sure what else drew me to this page, but I definitely find it aesthetically pleasing.

IMG_4280

What I find really interesting looking back on this whole process is that whilst working on my magazine spread, I had actually forgotten that I had looked at this magazine. So it wasn’t as if I was referencing back to these pages.  Something subconsciously was pushing me towards this layout.

Anyway I got the colours from the poster, to help keep the colour scheme and I wanted to use a far amount of white so it wouldn’t over whelm the reader. But also to help elevate the poster. Although I wish I had more time to experiment with the contrasting colours, I started as  you can see from the top right hand corner image. I really like that light green colour, to do a whole spread in that colour along with the white I think would turn out really interestingly. Especially if it was opposite the pinks and burgundy of the poster.

My favourite one would have to be the layout I eventually went with, which has one burgundy page opposite a white page holding the poster. I like it for the same reason I enjoy the HotShoe spread, it’s simple and get the point across. Yet the fact that one whole page is a different colour is something I rarely see in magazines, so in that sense I find it refreshing.

My least favourite of the options would be the one where the text is highlighted with a separate colour, it really pulls the text to the front which distracts from everything else is on the page.

I really enjoyed the whole process though, coming up with a concept in a few hours and and then bringing it to light. Using InDesign itself was so interesting, its so much fun to play about with.

Leave a Reply

